top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanica Hidalgo

How I Started My Own Freelancing Journey


My own freelancing journey really started from scratch. It was very difficult for me when I started my freelancing career but I was determined to pursue freelancing because it is my dream. I’d like to share it with all of my own freelancing journey challenges to remind you that it’s not easy to shift from an office set up to a home-based setup. Determination is very essential in this transition time.

1. Started freelancing without money

When Coach Jay and I started freelancing we don’t have money. Also, we don’t have savings, and we don’t have a personal computer and even an internet connection. What we had was our passion to reach our dream. We started to work in an internet cafe paying from 10-15 pesos per hour. We did that for almost two months. It was difficult during my transition because I still work in an office during the day and work online at night. It’s very important to note that there is no such thing as an “overnight success.” In freelancing, it is vital for a newbie to have extreme determination and perseverance in pursuing the career.

2. Started freelancing in the 30s

Some freelancers are successful in their 30s but, for me, I just started my own freelancing journey when I was in my 30s. But, it’s okay, in fact, freelancing is not a matter of age. We have students who are PWDs, housewives, and even high school graduates. And, in freelancing it does not discriminate against a type of people or your academic status. But, it only sees what value you can deliver to your clients.

3. Started when I was a young wife and pregnant mother to twins

I experienced a lot of challenges when I started my own freelancing journey. It was hard for me because I was working at home while taking care of my newborn but I stayed focus because I really want to pursue working home-based and the struggles that I experienced did not make me give up.

4. Many rejections and challenges

Maybe you’re wondering how my newbie time went through. The same with you I also experienced a lot of challenges and rejections; I got shortlisted and was not hired. Yes, I had a little knowledge when it comes to freelancing due to my training on my previous job but, it wasn’t enough. I never know about SEO, Click funnels or even social media because it was new at that time. I had to do research a lot because my client will just instruct me to do this and that. Being resourceful and proactive was my tool in fulfilling my tasks. When you become a successful freelancer you will not be remembering who did not hire you or the feelings you had during the downtime because what will remind you is that those rejections and struggles were opportunities in growing your career.

5. Started with very little skills

As I’ve said there were tasks that I’m not familiar with, but, out of the little that I have, I used it to grow my freelancing career. When I shifted to freelancing I really made up my mind that this is my dream, this is what I want to pursue so, I did not consider giving up. Working home-based gives me the freedom to enjoy life while working therefore I decided that freelancing is the perfect industry for me. And for you to be competitive, you need to be consistent with your branding, updating your portfolio, and sending applications. Also, you need to focus on your attitude, character and the skills in order to be on top of your freelancing career.

6. Embrace self-improvement

Freelancing empowered me to improve myself by learning to wake up early, managing my emotions when I experience challenges, and in handling myself. In freelancing, you need to sacrifice the usual things that you do which are not relevant to your freelancing career for you to stay focused.

7. Embrace continuous learning

In freelancing, learning should not stop. That’s why my everyday routine includes listening to podcasts, reading books and listening to audiobooks. For your freelancing career to grow, have a deep understanding of continuous learning and learn to embrace it. What’s really important to make you become a successful freelancer is you need to stay focus, stay consistent and grow as you go.

These are my secrets in my own freelancing journey. I hope it is inspirational and motivational to all of you. 

You may watch the video here.

Now, are you ready to start your own freelancing career?

Let us know how we can help. 

Email us at hello@fvaconsultancy.com.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page